Republicans Again Trump’s Refusal to Concede, Declining to Acknowledge Biden




“Our system will resolve any recounts or litigation,” he stated.

However he additionally took the chance to torch Democrats, saying that they had no proper to anticipate that Mr. Trump would shortly concede.

“Presently final week, small-business homeowners in cities throughout America have been boarding up their home windows in case President Trump appeared to win and far-left mobs determined to reprise their summertime rioting,” Mr. McConnell stated. “Suffice to say, a number of authorized inquiries from the president don’t precisely spell the top of the republic.”

Democrats have been outraged. Following Mr. McConnell on the ground, Senator Chuck Schumer of New York, the minority chief, stated flatly that “Joe Biden received this election honest and sq..” He referred to as Mr. Trump’s claims “extraordinarily harmful, extraordinarily toxic to our democracy” and warned Republican leaders to not give them oxygen.

“Republican leaders should unequivocally condemn the president’s rhetoric and work to make sure the peaceable switch of energy,” Mr. Schumer stated.

A gaggle of 30 former Republican lawmakers, together with former Representatives Carlos Curbelo of Florida, Barbara Comstock of Virginia, Tom Coleman of Missouri and Bob Inglis of South Carolina, joined a letter calling on Mr. Trump to concede and settle for the outcomes of the election.

“We consider the statements by President Trump alleging fraud within the election are efforts to undermine the legitimacy of the election and are unacceptable,” the group wrote. “Each vote ought to be counted and the ultimate consequence accepted by the individuals as a result of public confidence within the consequence of our elections is a bedrock of our democracy.”

Few elected Republicans have voiced such views, and even provided the normal recognition of Mr. Biden’s victory and referred to as for the nation to maneuver ahead. In her assertion Monday, Ms. Collins joined only a handful of Home Republicans and simply three different Senate Republicans — Mitt Romney of Utah, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska and Ben Sasse of Nebraska — in publicly doing so.